5th International Course.

An update on Facial Paralysis


 February 12-14th , 2020. La Paz University Hospital. Madrid



 Main topics

· Do we need a Facial Paralysis Unit to treat patients with facial paralysis? The 15-year experience of La Paz Hospital Unit: Breaking old paradigms.

· Facial Grading Systems: Hands-on workshop with real patients to learn the use of different grading systems including eFACE.

· An update on medical treatment for Bell & Ramsay Hunt. Corticoids and/or antivirals? Is there a role for surgical treatment?

· The usefulness of electrophysiological tests for FP: Which, When and Why.

· Psychological aspects of FP.  The impact of counseling, treatment and follow up in a Facial Paralysis Unit.

· General approach to the patient with FP according to the etiology and the duration.

· Hypoglossal or Masseteric nerves for reinnervation:  The key factors for selecting each technique for our patients.

· Is that another tumor of the facial nerve? Management of these lesions in 2018.

· Facial nerve rehabilitation in malignant tumors: Is it worthwhile?

· General philosophy of facial nerve reconstruction.

· The anatomically intact but non-stimulating facial nerve in skull base surgery: Intraoperative facial nerve reinforcement and reconstruction.

· An update on eye care in patients with FP.

· Treatment options for the long-term FP: Deciding between muscle transposition and free flaps.

· Nonsurgical treatment of FP: Do we all know what to do? Myths and realities.

· Specific Physical Therapy following each surgical technique.

· Mimetherapy.

· Physiotherapist management of synkinesis.

· Facial neuromuscular retraining.

· Botulinum toxin treatment in FP. Clinical usefulness and its impact on Quality of Life.

· Facial Paralysis in children: What’s new.


The Nonsurgical Workshop with live patients:

· Clinical evaluation.

· Identification of the main sequelae, and their importance for the patient.

· Facial Neuromuscular Retraining (exercise, stretching).

· Botulinum toxin injection.


The Surgical Workshop will teach how to perform the following techniques:

· Intratemporal end-to-side hypoglossal-facial anastomosis

· Cross-face sural graft.

· Gracilis microvascular flap.

· Harvesting donor nerves in facial paralysis: sural, greater auricular (trunk vs. trunk and branches) and masseteric nerves.

· Upper lid platinum chain weight using the retrograde postelevator approach.

· Current oculoplastic surgery.

Multidisciplinary approach to real and complex clinical cases

· Complex real cases will be presented and discussed by the speakers and the participants. If you want to send us a case for discussion you can email to lapazparalisisfacial@salud.madrid.org





· Dr. Luis Lassaletta. Department of Otolaryngology. La Paz Hospital, Madrid.

· Dr. Susana Moraleda. Department of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation. La Paz Hospital, Madrid.

· Dr. Teresa González-Otero. Department of Maxillofacial Surgery. La Paz Hospital, Madrid.



· Prof. Javier Gavilán. Department of Otolaryngology. La Paz Hospital, Madrid.


Guest Faculty

· Dr. Tessa Hadlock. Facial Nerve Center. Boston, USA.

· Dr. Jacqueline H Diels. University of Wisconsin, USA.

· Dr. Carien Beurskens. Radboud University Medical Center, Nijmegen, Netherlands.

· Dr. Miguel Aristegui. Department of Otolaryngology. Gregorio Marañón Hospital, Madrid.

· Dra. Sara Clariana. Universidad Rey Juan Carlos. Madrid.


Local Faculty

· Dr. Álvaro Arbizu. Department of Ophthalmology.

· Dr. Amelia Fernández-Zubilaga. Department of Neuro-Radiology.

· Dr. Pilar García Raya. Department of Neuro-Radiology.

· Dr. Miguel Burgueño Garcia. Department of Maxillofacial Surgery.

· Dr. Javier Arias Gallo. Department of Maxillofacial Surgery.

· Dr. Elena Gómez. Department of Maxillofacial Surgery.

· Dr. Javier González. Department of Maxillofacial Surgery.

· Dr. David Hernández. Department of  Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation.

· Dr. Jose Manuel Morales. Department of Otolaryngology.

· Dr. M. José Morán. Department of Maxillofacial Surgery.

· Dr. Julio Peñarrocha. Department of Otolaryngology.

· Dr. Pilar Prim. Department of Otolaryngology.

· Dr. Jose María Roda. Department of Neurosurgery.

· Dr. Ignacio Pascual. Department of Neurology.

· Dr. Ricardo Romero. Department of Ophthalmology.

· Dr. Susana Santiago. Department of Neurophysiology.

· D. Sergio López Pozo. Physiotherapist. Department of PM&R.

· Dña. Elena Mauleón. Physiotherapist.  Department of PM&R.

This website uses cookies to give you the best user experience. If you continue browsing, you are consenting to the acceptance of the aforementioned cookies and the acceptance of our cookie policy, click on the link for more information.

Este sitio web utiliza cookies para que usted tenga la mejor experiencia de usuario. Si continúa navegando está dando su consentimiento para la aceptación de las mencionadas cookies y la aceptación de nuestra política de cookies, pinche el enlace para mayor información.

Aviso de cookies